Friday, November 28, 2008

Maslin's 2008 Top Ten Picks

Laura Lippman and Dennis Lehane at Bouchercon Baltimore

So first of all can I wish all of you a Happy Thanksgiving Day – and trust you all enjoy The Given Day; which is a subtle way of indicating that NYT’s Janet Maslin has listed Dennis Lehane’s opus THE GIVEN DAY as one of her top 10 reads of 2008

THE GIVEN DAY by Dennis Lehane. Shades of Doctorow and Dreiser color this fierce, sweeping historical drama, set in 1919 and told by the bard of Irish Boston. Mr. Lehane, the author of “Mystic River,” outdoes himself with something even bigger than a great detective tale.

Click here to discover the other nine books she’s selected.

I have a real passion for Dennis Lehane’s work and was so delighted to finally meet him in person at Bouchercon in Baltimore in October with my friend Roger Jon Ellory. Note that Lehane’s The Given Day is his first novel since the mind-altering Shutter Island.

Also for fans of Lehane’s Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro PI thrillers, you will be pleased to hear of this news.

No comments:

Post a Comment